SOPPY SUNDAY

 

norangba
Mother and Child.
Nistanbul
Istanbul.
nbleubells
Bluebell wood. Did you know it is illegal to dig bluebells up?
N zebra#
Doing the bits we can’t get to ourselves…
n water vole
Water vole.
n stockholm
Stockholm.
n oilseed
Oilseed. Total joy for a few weeks in May.
N orang
This baby is only a few days old.
n oyster catchers
Oyster catchers
n gentians
Gentian.
n husky
Huskey puppy.
n donk
It’s cool to be able to wear your lunch, as well as eat it.
n squir
Got any nuts?
N sidny
“Will you walk into my parlour?” said the Spider to the Fly,
 ‘Tis the prettiest little parlour that ever you did spy;
  The way into my parlour is up a winding stair,
   And I’ve a many curious things to show when you are there.”
“Oh no, no,” said the little Fly, “to ask me is in vain,
 For who goes up your winding stair
     -can ne’er come down again.
N greeland
You’ll never guess which country this is.
n giraffe
Hello. Got any acacia for a hungry giraffe? 
n edinburgh
Our lovely Edinburgh.
n falkland
Falkland Palace.
n budgie
Whose a pretty boy?
n children hosp italy
Amazing. Therapy dogs wait for their patients in an Italian children’s hospital.

 

15 thoughts on “SOPPY SUNDAY”

      1. Until I got my bearings, my first thought actually was a furry animal on a black pack of some sort. But I don’t have a clue about the location. Not very many distinctive clues there.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Tris….I can’t identify the specific location, but after a more detailed examination of the foliage in evidence, in juxtaposition with characteristic rock strata, I’m going to take a guess and say that the location is probably Greenland.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Tris….Actually you didn’t tell me…..LOL. You can do a pretty good job with locations if you carefully examine the shape of rock strata and compare it with certain lichens which occur on rocks at various latitudes. This one was hard to see, but the resolution was good enough to identify this as a far northern region, and the likelihood of Greenland was consistent with seven (possibly eight) individual plant species that I was able to identify from the summer foliage. The result was an 80-90% likelihood of Greenland. The geology and ecosystem was consistent with other northern islands of course, but Greenland seemed the most likely. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      4. OR Tris……..It MIGHT have been that I did a “Save Image” to my computer and the name of the file came up with the image, and I found that it was named “Greeland”….well actually “n-Greeland.” So I took a chance on the missing “n” and guessed Greenland. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Yeh I’ve actually been to two of the places this week. Edinburgh though granted not that bit! And Falkland palace which is well worth a visit if you are in Fife. The husky puppy is adorable as are the baby orangs. I wondered if the rapeseed picture as actually a camper van picture though….

    Has someone been at that squirrel with a paintbrush or is it not a squirrel?

    Like

    1. Falkland Palace looks very interesting, although I immediately thought of Maggie Thatcher attacking it. This is from Wikipedia:

      “In 1402 Robert, Duke of Albany imprisoned his nephew and rival David, Duke of Rothesay, the eldest son of King Robert, in the Well Tower at Falkland. The incarcerated Duke eventually died there from neglect and starvation.
      Albany was exonerated from blame by Parliament, but suspicions of foul play persisted….”

      So as I understand it they found the Duke of Rothsay starved to death in a tower of the palace owned by the Duke of Albany. So what happened? Parliament exonerated Albany from blame, but “suspicions of foul play persisted.” SUSPICIONS????? After Rothsay starved to death in Albany’s own tower???? I’d say that the guy had one hell of a fine defense lawyer……and probably a lot of juice with parliament too.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. The wee squirrely looking fella is a chipmunk, PP.

        I don’t want you to think that Munguin has been stalking you. It’s pure coincidence that he’s been in the same places as you. Every time I’ve been in Falkland it’s been too late to go in. I really want to see the gardens.

        Like

      2. Aye, Danny.

        That’s how it works here. If you have a title almost anything is permissible.

        I’m sure that Maggie would have attacked them if she had thought it would buy her some political advantage. By and large, though, nothing she could have done would have bought her advantage in Scotland. Ever!

        Like

  2. Its as subdued here as the facebook sites are. Those are great animal pix. I don’t care for spiders. I never kill them, but I frequently catch them then put them outside. The bigger ones I take 6 miles away to my work and release them.

    I don’t recognise that bit of Edinburgh, but I’ve em been to Stockholm, Istanbul and Falkland Palace. Until Stirling was tarted up I thought Falkland was one of the bonniest.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I rescue spiders from the bath. If you put them down on the floor they soon find a place to get under the floorboards, but sometimes I put them outside.

      Like

Leave a Reply

