MESSAGE TO 18-24-YEAR-OLDS

avote

They say that in a democracy, you get the government you vote for. It’s a debatable point particularly when you use first past the post voting system.

But what is certainly also true is that if you don’t vote you may get the government [or council] you didn’t vote for.

Everyone is entitled to a vote, to a say in how their local or central government is run. Male and female, religious and not religious, straight and gay, rich and poor, black and white and OLD and YOUNG.

In Scottish elections young starts at 16; in English 18… and lasts till you die.

It’s a privilege that many people across the world don’t have, and I’ve always used it.

avote1

This IPSO Mori shows the proportion of people in different age groups (among other classifications) who voted.

So 43% of people 18-24 voted in the 2015 election. That means that 57% didn’t.

At the other end of the age spectrum, 78% of the 65+ group voted and only 22% didn’t.

So maybe you got the government your parents or grandparents wanted.

Nothing wrong with that if you agree with their politics.

But if you prefer your own politics to theirs, maybe you should make the effort to get out there on election day…local or UK… and vote for YOUR choice.

Otherwise, don’t complain when the government enacts policies best suited to older people. And yes, VAT going up will affect you, as will whether or not we can continue to provide free university education, whether we get a decent Brexit that will allow you to study abroad, or even go on holiday, whether there are jobs, what the income tax rate will be, housing and transport… Well, most stuff really.

After all, if you can’t be bothered giving up 5 minutes to vote, you can’t be very interested in your future. So having your grandparents’ choice won’t bother you much.

a vote

But seriously, would you let them pick your car, your clothes, what music you listen to?

31 thoughts on “MESSAGE TO 18-24-YEAR-OLDS”

  1. I grew up in a milieu where rebellion and protest were the norm amongst young folk. I even flirted with the SWP FFS, but I never kidded myself that I and my – ahem – comrades, were the norm. Teens want social change as a very poor third after getting laid and peer group pressure.

    Like

      1. Of course. Political thought are low down on the list of “important things to do this week” for many young people, behind, as you say, sex, clothes, music, etc.

        And to many it is like saying, at 19…”you have to start saving for your pension, or you’ll live in poverty in your 70s”. All these things are a million years away.

        But if we persuade a few, well, we’ll have done something.

        Like

    1. SWP? Splitter! I was a member of the WRP.
      A very sexy German girl had something to do with me joining though. 😉
      I actually met a few of the American Black Panthers. Very intense folk.

      Liked by 1 person

    2. SWP? Splitter! I was a member of the WRP.
      A sexy German girl had something to do with me joining though. I met a few of the American Black Panthers, and our HQ was raided by Special Branch. I’m sure I will still be on a list somewhere.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Tris
    I say it to young people all the time in my job that it is very important they vote. Sadly far too many are more interested in Facebook, or snap chat. It’s not that they don’t have a view, they do, it’s just very hard to get young people engaged. The change in registration didn’t help and was designed, in my opinion, to discourage young people to vote, let’s face it in England old people vote Tory young people when they vote vote labour. I sometimes think the greens need to do more to get the youth vote. I’ll keep at it though it is so important to.

    Bruce

    Like

    1. I suspect that the best way to communicate with the young is through Snapchat.

      Anything that can be received on a cell phone is far more likely to go in.

      I agree about the Greens.

      Like

  3. Good point Tris and an argument well made. Problem is that I don’t think the target audience in question is reading it. I wish they would, just like I wish the Express and Telegraph etc.. readers would read the Indy sites but they just don’t.

    I fear there’s an Indy bubble that a lot of the faithful are stuck in where we don’t see the real picture. I.e. We are all cozily agreeing with each other while being progressively stuffed by a concerted, consistent propaganda campaign that is so far not being countered effectively by our side.

    I really hope I’m wrong and please anyone feel free to put me right but I’m seeing nothing to make me feel positive just now..

    We absolutely cannot rely on their idiocy to win the battle for us. We need to take action. We need to start fighting back, there’s not that very long to go.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve changed to greig12 from Dave again. My flabber is once again ghasted by this WordPress thingy.

      I only hope I can hang on to some sense of who I am in all this. Dammed internet.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Absolutely right about us living in a bubble. It’s a fact of life that we read the sort of stuff that comforts us, remembering all the time that we are fed by the BBC and the “popular” press, a diet of stuff we don’t want to hear. And young folk very often have much more important stuff than politics on their minds. Like “does that boy/girl fancy me?”, and “how many friends do I have on facebook?”

        Enthusiastic? I think I’m always enthusiastic. We have come a very long way in 20 years. You gotta have hope.

        As for WordPress?

        GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Inexplicable, Conan.

        It will be something to do with Cookies, I’ve no doubt.

        After a few years of not being able to comment on Wings, or Bruce’s site, when I got my new computer, I found that I could.

        How to clear it…. heaven knows.

        Long as you can comment… That’s the important thing.

        Like

  4. Aaargh. You should have done this a month ago. Our canvassing is over for the council elections now, but I will use the stuff on the GE canvassing that starts next Sunday.

    I had a 16 year old answer a door last Wednesday. I urged him – as disinterested as he was – to use his vote. I stressed that politicians ignore young people because they pander to old people who do vote. But you have given me some ammunition there.

    I will be on polling station duty Thursday, and I do routinely accost the young voters and urge them – even if its not for us – to get their pals to vote. I have seen some come back later with pals. It is very important that we get them into the habit. Politicians must be held to account. In an age of manipulative media, and mis / dis information it becomes even more important that apathy stops the bastards from getting away with it.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, I should have. But I saw the graphic at the top and it put it into my mind.

        Too late, but there’s another election coming up.

        One of the reasons I think that the vote at 16 is a good idea is that it carried on from whatever current affairs or civics they learn at school.

        If you get people fired up for voting when they are 15 and 16, and then they leave school (or move on to “highers”), unable to vote, then you lose the impact.

        It’s plain to us that if you leave it to older people to vote, you will get older people’s policies.

        We can but try to make people see this.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. The fact is we the Oldys have fecked it up
    utterly totally and completely , The young
    should tear society down and build ???
    I dunno but we Oldys should not give advice
    on what next cos we will get it wrong.

    The hope for the young is in their hands
    obviously the greybeards do their utmost
    to stop them voting and convincing
    them nothing can change.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s a nice thought, but I doubt they can tear it all down and start again.

      I think thought that older folk have the right to want what is good for them, but if they young want something better for themselves, they do have to be aware that it is in their hands to get it… or not to. And that it only takes a few minutes every few years.

      It’s really up to them…

      Although from what I’ve heard of May’s plans, even old people will get a crap deal from her.

      Like

    2. Oldies always fuck it up for teenagers;- it’s a human condition. Young folk – and those who stay young – are always wondering about what is over the next hill. Quite useful when we were hunter gatherers.

      Old folk and Tories prefer to squat on what they have earned. The young folk who stay to inherit? Look at any Young Conservative gathering…

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Human psychology being the convoluted thing it is, I wonder if it’s best to remind young people who don’t vote that their’s is the majority choice.

    There’s always the snag that by the time their votes would change things for teenagers, they won’t be teenagers any longer. Maybe Life moves too fast for voting to catch on early.

    Lets just be grateful they turn out in better numbers for Indy Refs.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, that’s true, and I suppose it is difficult for us to imagine what life will be like in ten years, never mind 20 or 50, when they will be knocking on.

      Change can take time, but not necessarily that much time.

      Do the young want to pay university fees; do they want to be disallowed housing benefits until they are 25? Certainly wouldn’t be good in today’s temporary jobs market.

      I have to say I can’t imagine any young person who sees a rosy future for themselves with the Tories in charge.

      Like

      1. Very interesting. I really wish they’d done it in Scotland…and for that matter England.

        I know a lot of people think that voting never changes anything. I can see what they say, after all, if you live in Oxfordshire or Huntington, what on earth is the point of voting Labour?

        But, a few years ago you might have said the same about most of Scotland.

        And in 2015 the SNP unseated 40 of Labour’s 41 seats in a parliament of 59 seats. Of course they will lose some this time round, but getting out and voting CAN change things, if you do it in big enough numbers.

        Frankly I’ve been waiting for riots in England for years. But there have been none since 2010. A botched EU exit and a hot summer, and one little error where the police shoot the wrong man…

        Like

    1. Good point, and not so far from the truth.

      ‘Discipline and a fear of god is what these young chaps need to keep them in line’, they will say.

      We’ll maybe remind them that ex-servicemen make up a disproportionate percentage of the prison population. Discipline may or may not be good, but serving in the forces seems to leave rather a lot of people with mental problems that they can’t cope with, and that the state has no facilities for.

      Still, as far as I know the SNP has no plans to introduce conscription.

      Like

  7. This is a topic i bring up a lot when talking to my sons and their friends. They are both grown with families now and have a good understanding of the political scene . I chose to lecture them daily since their early teens to stop moaning about how hard life was and do something about it to change . They vote . I make bloody sure they do 🙂

    Its up to all of us to grab as many people as we can and chase them to vote . I have a car so i pick them up and instruct them on the way how the voting works.

    I’m from a mining village that was shattered when the 3 local pits closed . I left for our armed forces and my breaks when i returned home showed a place i hardly knew . No Bank or small shops just a chippy and a couple asian shops . thousands on the dole for decades.

    That was under Maggie .

    T. May is worse . A loose cannon who cannot plan ahead , constantly changing her views and Ruth Davidson , along with the msm will see us on our knees before the UK alter ,regardless of the damage to us Scots .

    keep plodding away folks we are slowly getting there . It often feels like we’re bashing our heads against the wall but folk do listen and over time see the truth in your words.

    P.S.

    Health improved big time Tris. Walking with a stick but managing better. 2 Years of this had me sooo down but hopes of a new referendum have given me the spur i need to keep talking and chasing the young ones for the vote.

    Love this blog . always visit and hope to say more now my healths improved . A wee visit to Dundee or abouts during next ref might mean we get a chance to meet so i can thank you for this blog and the help you and the commenters gave me for ammo against the Yoons.

    Give Munguin a hug frae me and thank him too . you would be lost with him Tris . Goos job he keeps you right 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Completely agree. I can’t understand why people won’t vote. There are so many places where they don’t have one, and yet some of our people, young and old, don’t bother to go vote. Even if you spoil you paper, show them that you are alert to them. Even if it is to say, I hate you all.

      Theresa? Jings, how did we end up with the charisma and brains free zone?

      And at a time so important. I see the EU are describing Britain as Planet May, so deluded is she.

      I can’t tell you have relieved I am to hear that you’re health has improved. I’ve thought of you often and wondered how you were doing.

      Thanks for the nice things you said about the blog. Munguin’s wee heid has fair swelled and he promised me a 10% rise. (I forbore to point out that 10% of 0 isn’t a heck of a lot. He means well, bless him).

      You know that you’ll be more than welcome any time at Munguin Towers if you come through to Dundee. Bring that travelling minstrel with you. We’ll have a sing song!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

