SOPPY SUNDAY

n arbroathN bees like aliumsn beinn dearg morN cougarn cuten dolphinn donkN hallgrimskirkjan horseN icelandn insecyn leaf hoppern malcolmn MooooooN orann pandan metalic leaf beetleN Italian skyn donkeysN puppy

I mentioned a week or so ago that Gerry ย (Munguin’s man with the camera) had been chosen as an SNP candidate for the council elections in Glenboig Gartcosh and Moodiesburn ward.

N Gerry

Here he is with some woman he knows. (Munguin is NOT happy about this.)

Anyway, he now has Facebook and Twitter pages up and a “follow” from his friends at Munguin’s Republic would be much appreciated.

IMG_0001

When he’s not campaigning for the SNP, he’s taking photographs of his back garden!

As was I this afternoon.

IMG_20170408_161214279IMG_20170408_161236607IMG_20170408_161256207IMG_20170408_161158364

40 thoughts on “SOPPY SUNDAY”

  1. “Quia quamdiu Centum ex nobis viui remanserint, nuncquam Anglorum dominio aliquatenus volumus subiugari. Non enim propter gloriam, diuicias aut honores pugnamus set propter libertatem solummodo quam Nemo bonus nisi simul cum vita amittit.”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ooh, classy! I like. I shall look up the text of that thing in Latin – I suppose I knew somewhere in the capacious understorey of my mind that it must have been in Latin, but the little switch failed to close and the connection was not made. Classically classy!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. LOL.

        We do love a bit of classics here.

        Like you, I’d never given much thought to it, but I suspect there would have been little point in writing to the Pope in Scots…

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Tris, very good morning. Thanks for the Plug – and the photo’s, they just keep getting better and better, thanks for posting mine. How difficult was it to get the big church (?) and the wee pony right at that point, beautifully symmetrical

    Munguin has nothing to fear sir, Panda passes on his (their?) best regards, I think theyre on their way to being bff’s. Will give you a mention on my facebook page today.

    I’ll be having some of this afternoon off to tidy up my garden, yours is the standard I’ll aim for.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Morning Gerry. The church is Arbroath Abbey which is why I quoted what I did…

      Good luck with your campaign btw.

      Like

    2. @Gerry: Ha ha. Like most things in my life, it was all matter of happenstance.

      The garden too. It seems to have a life of its own. Thaks for the compliment, though. It looks like it was hard work; in fact most of it was pure luck.

      Like

  3. I quite liked the monkey, lest it not be an orang utang. I would hate it if I was wrong two weeks running!

    You back garden is an amazing place!

    Like

    1. LOL @ Douglas.

      You’re safe. It’s an orange man.

      Thanks. I think the photos of the garden may be a little flattering. It’s a tenement block so it’s not that big. But it’s a good place for the insects and birds, mice and spiders.

      Like

  4. Ehem not too keen on the insects pictures. All creatures great and small and all that but not my favourites. That said the heiland coo was gorgeous. And is that white dug Mr Malky’s new one Malcolm? And there was me thinking Munguin was the most famous person Gerry knew ๐Ÿ™‚ Apart from me, he seems to have found my secret hiding place :=)

    Lovely garden Tris, you must spend a lot of time on it.

    Like

    1. Insects are beautiful and necessary though, PP. Where would we be without them?

      I love heiland coos. The dog is indeed Malcolm. He’s a beauty.

      I think you need to understand that Munguin IS the most important person Gerry knows. Bar none. And who’s that you’re in the bamboo with?

      Truth is, PP, I spend almost no time in the garden now. When I was building it from scratch about 8 years ago, it did take up a lot of time. digging, buying, planting, rearranging, building dry stain dykes, etc. But now that it’s done, I’m bored.

      Like

      1. So you like design then – that’s what I’m looking for. Once and running I can maintain it – it’s what to do with it that’s the problem. I sense some picture taking occurring soon, expect an e-mail!!

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Nice pictures! As for the pretty garden with the mice and spiders, are all the neighbors OK with the mice….not to mention the spiders? Could you use an American rattler to complete the theme?

    I do like that rocket ship in Iceland that they use for a church.

    As for those heiland coos, I’m pretty sure that they can’t see, and must fall off of the mountains a lot.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, Danny… As far as the mice are concerned, every garden has them, and many of them will make their way into people’s houses for something to eat. By letting them live in the shed and feeding them (good stuff too) I remove the necessity for them to raid folks’ larders.

      I don’t think they notice the spiders and wood lice and other such beasties. Whilst I thank you for your kind offer or a rattler, I think I’ll pass on it. Although, there are some neighbours… hmmmm

      I promise you that is all my years of tramping around the Scottish heilans I’ve never yet seen a coo fa aff a ben!

      They have mystical powers, you see. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

      1. Yes, Conan. It and the birds do attract cats, and of course there are occasional casualties. But largely the mice stay in the shed, where they have food and water, and the birds are far too smart for the idiot cats in my street.

        Like

  6. Liked the photo of the dolphin. They quite often follow my boat and are quite beautiful. However, the Boss and Brats for some reason seem to think that they are man-eating sharks – heh heh! I think that whilst the dolphins have hooked dorsal fins porpoises have triangular fins – or is it the other way round?

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Erm, don’t you think that, maybe, you should find that out?

      Munguin is keen to have a ride in yer boat. He’s not afraid of man- eating dolphins, because he’s a Munguin… and they don’t like the taste of Munguins.

      Like

      1. At the risk of getting his fur wet Munguin can help me dive for clams, or in your posh world ‘scallops’! I remember one of the foster kids hearing me saying I had to wash clams decided to help me out with Fairy Liquid!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I’m sure that somewhere on the staff Munguin has a diver who can do that for him. Me probably.

        Sounds like fun.

        LOL. Kids can be so helpful. Lovely!

        Like

  7. Thanks for the photies as usual, Tris, and of course I found the one of the orangutan particularly life-enhancing… on a sadder note, I saw just the other day that puffins (and curlews) have been added to the IUCN Red List. It’s heartbreaking, what we humans are doing to our only home.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. First, you are very welcome. I’m glad you enjoyed them.

      It’s incredible what we are doing to animals, including humans.

      There are so many species that are so near the red line. In some cases it’s the climate change; in some it is man’s greed.

      Sickening and, as you say, heartbreaking.

      Like

Leave a Reply

